Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Have Some Fun Will Ya? January 27, 2012

Filed under: Career Chronicles,Life,Weather — Aimee @ 2:02 am

Because I was too happy with my midterm exam on Essay Reading and Writing and because I just wanted to do it, I walked under the rain today on my way home. And then I realized it’s been quite a while since I did something spontaneous just for the fun of it. Like heading to the beach on a weekday afternoon or watching a movie alone in a dark theater or buying a book just because the cover looked really pretty. Did I just suddenly grow up or get boring? I used to do these stuff years ago, when I thought being irresponsible was fun.

But here I correct myself. I used to do all these because I was bored and trying too hard to be irresponsible. But these days boredom is an alien concept altogether. I guess it comes with maturity or whatever, but when you get older you don’t really get bored anymore – at this point in your life you’re supposed to already know how to amuse yourself, even if all you have with you is a ball of string. So walking under the rain was pointless really, but I had fun, and after that easy peasy exam it was all I could do to celebrate.

Because once I get home it’s all work and work and more studying. Responsibility! I have several pages and product descriptions to write for my creative copy writing job, five short stories to reread and dissect, and a take-home midterm exam to finish before the day is over. Remind me again why I enrolled in post-graduate literature studies. :p

So a quick snap of my messy study desk (If it’s work I work out of a desktop). A copy of Katherine Mansfield’s The Fly, a pink fluffy pen to remind me that life can be soft and fluffy, a real pen (pointy and not at all fluffy), a notebook, and a bubble-blowing toy I stole from one of the loot bags at my nephew’s 1st birthday party two weeks ago.

Again, just for the fun of it.

TGIF!

😉

 

Leave a Reply

