Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Officially an Aunt… Almost January 14, 2011

Filed under: Life,Love — Aimee @ 2:50 pm
Tags: , , , ,

 

adorable booties from dreamstime.com

~~~~~

Anytime now, I’ll officially be an Auntie. In a few hours Rigaux/Rigo Matteo (I vote for Rigo, though my brother is all for the more complicated, French Rigaux), my younger brother’s firstborn will be greeting this world all pink-faced and slimy. Not that I’ll be around during the delivery, but you know how new born babies are when they gasp for air for the very first time: faces all crunched up, fists closed tightly, their toothless mouths a gaping hole. At least that’s how I see them on TV and in pictures and on YouTube.

But I bet Matteo is going to be really, really, handsome. And smart. And charming. And a future heart breaker. (See, I’m taking this “Auntie” role very, very seriously.) I can’t wait to read stories to him, show him his first constellation, or give him my first lecture on how to treat girls properly. And how to break their hearts ever so gently, smartly, so that they end up thanking him in the end.

For Matteo, my love, I have these wishes for you:

1. That you will be blessed with excellent health and grow up to be a smart, precocious little boy.

2. That you will choose a sport and strive to be good at it.

3. That you will be excellent both in Math and in English.

4. That you will love books.

5. That you will follow your heart and your dreams and your happiness.

6. That you will respect and love your Mom and Dad at all times.

7. That you will be a responsible, loving sibling, son, friend, boyfriend, husband, citizen, colleague, team player.

8. That you will allow your Auntie Ai and Auntie Tics to spoil you, without making you rotten.

9. That you will know God and understand your faith and discover that in the end, only love and kindness really matter.

I love you, Matteo. I hope WordPress will still be around 18 or 20 years from now so you can read this post, written on the eve of your birthday.

🙂

Happy birthday, sweetie.

~~~~~

Update:

My brother has decided on Rigaux. Oh, well. The parent always gets to have the last say. :-p

 

Leave a Reply

