Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Yay! December 16, 2010

Filed under: books,Movies — Aimee @ 3:52 am
Tags: , , ,

 

 

still on the first few pages 🙂

~~~~~

 

my most recent fave movie, you can say that 🙂

~~~~~

Many thanks to my pal, Matt for giving me this book as a belated birthday present and as an advance Christmas gift. And many thanks to my best friend, Estee, for lending me the DVD. The movie had me crying the whole time, tears, snot, and all. And while the book is fun to read it is nonetheless loaded with so much insight, and am pretty sure some tears and snot affair will be going on as well.

Blame it on Liz Gilbert. I’m no longer embarrassed to admit that my 2010 has actually been a year full of tears, snot, sniffles, and bunched-up tissues. Always a cry baby, always been. But then again, what is transformation without cleansing, without tears?

Reading this book and watching the movie is the perfect conclusion for a year that had me on my knees almost the entire time, thanking a God that has been faithful to me this entire time, a God that gave me the kind of love I will perhaps never find again in this lifetime at a time when I did not deserve it, a God who had to break my heart so that I may be whole again.

There’s been no Italy-India-Indonesia journey for me (maybe someday!), yes, but my internal/spiritual travels for this year can be comparable to Gilbert’s own adventure.

And I could not thank my GOD enough. 🙂

 

 

4 Responses to “Yay!”

  1. Patricia Says:

    Check out her next book, “Committed” if you want more of Liz Gilbert.

    Eat, Pray, Love is definitely one of my favorites. Saw the movie solo for my birthday.

    Miss you, Aims. Happy Holidays!!!

    • Aimee Says:

      Yes will do that after reading EPL. The Liz and Felipe love story. LOL..

      Happy Holidays my friend, miss you too! 🙂

  2. ben Says:

    I would love to give this as a present to my friend. This is really a nice movie. This is one of my favorites. I keep on watching this movie over and over again.


Leave a Reply

