Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

August Rush September 16, 2010

Filed under: Events,Women — Aimee @ 3:07 pm
Tags: , , ,

My August for this year had been so full that for this September I am willingly resigning myself to some domesticity. Except for the regular Thursday meetings with church friends (who are so crazily fun to be with you would not think church people are like that, at all), weekly trips to Watson’s for some essentials, and Fridays spent with the besties over coffee and chitchat, I will be spending most of my free days indoors. August has stripped my wallet dry as well, so for now staying put is the only viable option. :p

So this is how my August had been.

don't you just love those smiles!

that's the attorney with her magazine... flipping through wedding ideas!

Aug 6. Should have watched Sarah Geronimo in concert at the Atrium, but my besties decided to go with other plans. So we ended up talking non-stop at some mall coffee kiosk, had grilled chicken and some soup for dinner, and treated ourselves to some dreamy gelato at Missy Bon Bon, where we also took as many snaps as we could, and talked about weddings and proposals, and the fact that one of my besties is expecting one within the month. Hence the fixation with the Weddings mag. 🙂

boating before breakfast

the old pier at daytime

Aug 7. Traveled to Lanao Del Norte, some 3 hours away from my home in Cagayan de Oro to visit my cousins. Rode the bus with Mom, my sister, my cousin J, Mom’s friend, Tita A, and her young daughter. Went boating at early morning (lovely!), and on our first night, we walked with our cousins to an old village pier and watched the gazillion stars (lovelier!) until we were all drowsy from all the talk and laughter. We also visited two waterfalls, went swimming, and had our pictures taken a thousand times.

oh Candy's how we love thee!

the photobooth souvenir. yee-ha!

Aug 21.  Dinner and coffee with my best buddies from my ex-office. Nashy and Candice were home for the weekend, and I had no problem convincing Ella to come home as well (thank you understanding hubby! :p). Another Ella was there too, so it was one big, raucous get-together, with some happy news (shhh!) on the side. Dinner at our favorite Candy’s and then coffee at Coffeeworks, where we went ga-ga over the photobooth, wigs, weird sunglasses, hats, and all! See crazy photos for reference.

some REALLY close-up snaps at the birthday/engagement party

So. it will just be Estee and myself, once Sora gets hitched. and Marshie too, who'll be home from New Zealand in time for the wedding. Yay!

Aug 25. Finally, one of my best friends got engaged on her birthday! Sora, the feisty, fashion-forward attorney who’s been my best friend since high school freshman year finally got the rock on the eve of her birthday, after seven years of a drama-filled but nevertheless admirable relationship with her lawyer better-half. What else can I say? I’ve been anticipating this proposal as if it were my own and now that it’s here, I’m just elated! Excited for the exclusive house party/ engagement party, the bridal shower, the pre nup pictorials (which I heard will be shot on location at Impasugong, Bukidnon, weee!), and of course the dreamy, dreamy, big day.

Love, love. “Without love, our world is a tomb.”

 

Leave a Reply

