Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Should Have Been in Bantayan Island Today… March 20, 2010

Filed under: confessions,Events,Love,Women — Aimee @ 10:16 am
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

~~~~~~~~

… to witness my good friend Dennise’s lovely beach wedding at sunset. But instead I am stuck at home, nursing a dancing hangover, and writing this lousy blog post. I canceled my trip to Cebu and to Bantayan Island early this week due to work complications. This freelancing thing is getting on my nerves, and with the scheduled blackouts disrupting my writing schedules almost on a daily basis, I was left with no choice but to choose work over vacation this weekend, or else I’ll go broke before month-end.

Plus, today is also Chaya’s wedding in Malaybalay, held at the same church where I want to profess my marriage vows in someday, the Monastery of Transfiguration. For months, I had been in a dilemma, thinking how I will inevitably be missing one wedding, by taking part in another.

But because I promised to grace Dennise’s wedding first, and talks of her getting married in early summer surfaced way before Chaya began planning about her own, I was leaning towards the Bantayan Island wedding party. As early as January, I began shopping for a dark-violet strapless dress to wear to the beach wedding, as well as an abaca-made wrist bag to go with the summer-beachy theme. Also, I bought some new eye make-up, and prepared the pink and brown printed  summer dress which I never had occasion to use, intending to wear it over breakfast after the wedding party.

So much for being a fashionista girl scout. Today, I am at home, feeling a bit wistful, wishing I were someplace else, where blue skies and chilled margaritas go perfectly together. Well last night I went clubbing with the girls, and though I had some Gilbey’s Premium Strength Gin and danced for two hours in my 3-inch party heels, I’d still much rather be in a deserted white beach, witnessing another happily-ever-after, and staring dreamily into the sunset.

Gahd. I feel like crying right now. Weddings and spoiled plans always do that to me.

😦

 

Leave a Reply

