Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Clean Slate: Turning Over a New Leaf February 9, 2010

Filed under: confessions,Life — Aimee @ 2:34 pm

So, my first post for the year 2010.

I apologize for not writing in here for more than a month, but I promise to write in here more often, what with the summer just around the corner. I expect to have more than a few out-of-town trips, beach camping, river trekking exploits and other outdoorsy stuff in the next few months so I guess I will have to make more time for blogging. For posterity’s sake.

Anyhoo, the past month has been grueling, but fun nevertheless. We had a send-off party for Brinee, who left for Dubai for work on the second week of January. The videoke party was fun, more so because we chose this new Korean videoke bar, with gorgeous wallpaper, flat screen televisions, and tambourines. We all had our send-off gifts for Brinee, wrapped the party up at 1am, and woke up the following working day with just about 4 hours of sleep.

I was also working on weekends, trying to catch up on lost work during the long Holidays, and in one of those weekends when I was working at home, I fell in love with a toddler. I have gotten pretty close with my brother’s girlfriend’s family, with Carla (the gf) and Mik (the gf’s sister) spending Christmas,  going out on beach and swimming trips, and sampling new restos with the rest of us. Mik works for a hospital, and one of their co-employees is the single mom of a chubby toddler named Bentot (sounds funny, yes, but the kiddo is just disarmingly cute). Since they are quite poor and could not afford a nanny, Bentot would be deposited in various nurse stations all over the hospital, including the pharmacy station where Mik works, left to be cared for and fed by whoever is on duty at that time. Sounds a bit tragic yes, but you’d be inclined to think otherwise if you’d see Bentot in the flesh. She has this huge tummy that keeps peeking out of her tight shirt, big black eyes, stubby fingers, and the biggest appetite you’ve ever seen on a 2 year old. So when Mik brought her to the house one weekend, I fell in love. Sigh. I wish I could have my own toddler, like, right now. Haha.

our new baby! 😀

Then on the 30th of January this year my cousin Tanya got hitched, finally, to Julius.  The entire event elicited a sigh of relief from me and perhaps everyone else too, especially since the wedding had been postponed once due to some very sad complications. Thankfully the wedding pushed through 5 months after the original wedding date. I was the one who took the pre-nuptial photos, along with my creative cousin Coy Fuentes, and I was also part of the liturgical entourage for the Mass. The wedding was lovely to say the least, the food was yum, the wine was divine, the chocolate fountain worth going gaga over, and the entire event happy and dreamy. Sigh. Don’t you just love weddings.

the sweet serenade

My 2010 kicked off pretty well, and I’m looking forward to more fun in the coming months. Well, don’t ask about my heart, it’s still bruised and blue in most places, but I’m coping. Things always do get better in time. Isn’t that enough cause for celebration?

Yeah. \m/

Divine Mercy Shrine sunset

 

Leave a Reply

