Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Retail Therapy: Converse Sneakers August 21, 2009

Filed under: Fashion,Faves — Aimee @ 1:15 pm
Tags: , , ,

converse-one-star-ox-2Because I have been feeling a bit blue and bruised lately, I decided to pamper myself this holiday weekend. Actually, I have long been putting off buying myself a new pair of sneakers, convinced that my favorite black and pink Nike’s is going to last for another year or so. However, however, I sighted a pair of Converse One Star Ox sneakers for women on sale this afternoon. The pull was too irresistible for a hopeless shopaholic like myself,  so after a few minutes of haggling (with no success, because the item was already on sale!) I finally made the purchase. The sneakers  is actually made from suede leather, done in a rich beige color, with a little orange star as an accent. I’m kind of eyeing the white leather Converse as well, with dainty pink lines and stars on either side. Hmmm, maybe on my next visit very soon.

Why the sudden fixation with sneaks? I don’t know. I just want to try something different for now. The other week, I cropped my hair to a bob cut. Wearing sneaks, baby tees, and sling bags had been my standard outfit the summer after I graduated from college, when I finally felt free and independent, and totally in my element. Now that someone is messing with my heart, I want to feel the same kind of power and freedom as I did before, cropped hair, jeans, sneaks, and everything in between.

Actually, I don’t care about emptying my savings account and going berserk at my favorite shops and boutiques. A broken heart sometimes does that to you, you know.  😦

 

Leave a Reply

