Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Bushed! August 13, 2009

Filed under: Career Chronicles,confessions — Aimee @ 3:14 am
Tags: , ,

HOLD-0444I am tired of writing.

Don’t get me wrong, I will forever love writing and I still dream of writing that novel someday. My love for words, pen and paper, PCs and keyboards, books and printed ink, bookstores and libraries is something that will forever be etched in me.

It’ s just that after making a decent living out of researching and writing, I suddenly feel the urgent need to explore something else. I want a job that can take me places, one that allows me to speak to people, or to market a product that I passionately believe in.

I remember enjoying the marketing subjects I took up in college immensely. Brainstorming for hours, racking my brains for the right advertising spiel, shooting a print commercial, and recording a radio advertising jingle had been pure euphoria. The results were phenomenal, and our professor, Mr. Lluch had been pretty impressed to say the least.

I still want to write, but I don’t want to do it for other people, all the time. Perhaps I am looking for some semblance of creative freedom, and not just in putting words to paper. I want to be a part of a team, to come up with creative ideas, and later on to write about them and to bring them to actual life. I want to market a valuable product, a belief, a policy, a lifestyle, one that I actually believe in and not one which others impose upon me.

I could be looking at a profession in the advertising industry, a marketing position at some decent company, or an entrepreneurial passion put to good use.

Whatever it is, one thing remains clear. I don’t want to stop at just writing.

 

Leave a Reply

