Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Wish I Owned an Entire Bookstore October 25, 2008

Filed under: books,Mall Trips,Shopping and Fashion — Aimee @ 11:10 am
Tags: , , ,

I was at the mall today and finally bought Jane Austen’s Persuasion and Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight. Bookstores are always like sanctuaries to me, and I could lose myself for hours pacing aisle after aisle after aisle of books. There was a sale nook at National Bookstore, but I decided to scrimp on another day. I should have known; after all, I always find it difficult to leave a bookstore empty handed once I’m already inside.

I should not be surprised why most of my book purchases are done on impulse. When I enter a boutique, I can resist buying a new top, a handbag (well, some days), or a pair of shoes. However, every time I venture inside a bookstore, I always find it almost sacrilegious not to buy a book. Everything looks glossy and gleaming and beckoning. This, or the fact that I really am an impulse buyer by nature, and to curb my shopping guilt afterwards, I make it an unconscious point to visit bookstores instead. I mean how can you feel guilty when you have bought something which actually feeds your mind and not your inane vanity?

While I was at the mall earlier, I visited again the kiosk which sells the earrings I have coveted for like, months, and there they were, all pretty and distant. I had to restrain myself of course, seeing that I already shopped at the bookstore, quite unplanned.

Anyway, as I have always wanted to indulge myself in another Austen, I finally bought Persuasion. As for the Meyer book, I have no expectations of it but am counting on the fact that it is a bestseller and that there’s a movie coming to theaters sometime next month. Plus, I have always loved Anne Rice’s Interview with the Vampire, so I’m hoping I’ll love Meyer’s fiction just as much.

As much as I have vowed not to buy any new book unless I finish reading Eco’s Island of the Day Before, I just keep breaking my promise. If I follow my vow religiously, I think an entire year will pass before I read another fiction. I have no idea why but this Eco book is like sleeping pills to me. Seriously.

I think I’ll read Twilight first. Hopefully I’ll be done by the time the movie hits the cinemas. And if I do like the book, nothing will keep me from buying the rest of the three books of the entire saga. Even if it means putting off buying the lovely earrings for a while. 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Wish I Owned an Entire Bookstore”

  1. Well, there are worse things to be addicted to. I shop by catalog mostly.

  2. Leah Says:

    I’m a huge Twilight fan! It is such a beautiful story, I’m sure you won’t be dissapointed. And there will be nothing that could stop you from buying the next three if you like it. You will buy them and devour them very quickly. Once you start Twilight, you can’t stop! :]

  3. Aimee Says:

    thanks for the tip Leah… and thank you for the pleasant comments. 🙂 well, I’m still a few pages into the book, and nothing consequential has developed yet, but I hope it’s as good as you say! Yep, I’m already plotting on buying the other three, so i HAVE to like Twilight. 😀 well, I’m pretty sure I will. Vampire love stories are always too good to pass up. 😀


Leave a Reply

