Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

Tuesdays With Morrie: Love Each Other or Die September 22, 2008

Filed under: Events,Love — Aimee @ 3:43 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Last night I went to a stage production of Repertory Philippines’ Tuesdays With Morrie, with my sister and my sister’s friend Joana. Tuesdays with Morrie is a book by Mitch Albom about a student and his witty professor, reunited after sixteen years when the latter was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s disease, and already dying.

The play was held at Rodelsa Hall, a decently sized theater venue with a sweeping grand staircase entirely made of marble and a grand chandelier which reminds you of being in an opulent Filipino ancestral home. Thankfully, I got complimentary tickets from Denise, a highschool classmate who now works for the theater, so I merely paid for my sister’s ticket that night.

The play started at 8pm, starring renowned theater actors Bart Guingona as Mitch Albom and Miguel Faustmann as Morrie Schwartz , and ended two hours later to deafening applause and a standing ovation. Both the characters of Mitch and Professor Schwartz were given sufficient justice, with the actors’ voices crisp as air and their emotions supremely infectious.

I went to the show not expecting anything, since I already read the book and watched the movie on cable television twice. The poignancy of the production was anything but ordinary, however; and it was hard not be moved or to be reduced to tears at any moment. There are a few quotes I want to share here, so please bear with me.


“The truth is if you accept that you can die at any time, then you might not be as ambitious as you are”

“Death ends a life, not a relationship”

“What’s wrong with being number two?”

“Love is how you stay alive, even after you are gone”

“If you’re always battling against getting older, you’re always going to be unhappy, because it will happen anyhow”

“Aging is not just decay… It’s growth”

“We must love each other or die”

 

3 Responses to “Tuesdays With Morrie: Love Each Other or Die”

  1. PTSD on line Says:

    PTSD References List (Wisky)…

    I found your entry interesting thus I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  2. I?m not certain the place you are getting your information, but great topic. I needs to spend a while finding out much more or working out more. Thanks for excellent information I used to be in search of this information for my mission.


Leave a Reply

