Saccharine Irony

This site is a compilation of fluid thoughts, a collection of poetry, random glimpses of humor and tragedy, spontaneous notions of an extremely sensitive mind.

marshmallow lines September 26, 2007

Filed under: Movies — Aimee @ 6:11 am
Tags: ,

***********************************************************************

Since I was not able to finish watching the film adaptation of Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice many months ago, just as I was barely able to finish the novel itself, I watched it again last night until well past midnight. Although I cannot list the movie as one of my favorites, there have been a few memorable lines that turned my insides into gooey marshmallow. First, it was when, against a backdrop of blinding sunrise and subdued green fields, Mr. Darcy declared to Elizabeth Bennet, My feelings have not changed. You have bewitched me heart and soul, and I love, love, love you.

And then, when Elizabeth spoke privately with her father on how she loves Mr. Darcy, and how her prejudices about him have been all mistaken, Mr. Bennet, teary-eyed and smiling, replied, I cannot believe that anyone can deserve you. But it seems I am overruled. So I heartily give my consent. I could not have parted with you, my Lizzie, to anyone less worthy.

Remind me to read the novel again.

************************************************************************

 

Leave a Reply

